My new experiences (part 2)

July 16, 2007 at 10:23 am 1 comment

This post has been long overdue. I almost decided to not even post it because I was already so late.

 My last post had to do with some of the things that I’ve experienced outdoors, and now I’d like to talk about the significant but unexpected part of the trip: my experiences with the group I came with.

I’ve never spent more than 24 hours with anyone but family, so my expectations for this trip were way off.

 My initial expectation was that this trip was going to be a “you mind your business and I’ll mind mine” kind of thing. I thought that we’d all go to class every day, say hello to each other when passing each other in the hall, and retire to our respective rooms when we returned in the evening.

 Sounds dreary, right?

Well it was a good thing that I had these low expectations, because when things turned out to be so much more rewarding than I had initially expected, it was like finding a hundred dollar bill in an old coat pocket.

I know I probably make it sound like its all gumdrops and candy canes and that we frolick in flowers together, but thats not what I’m trying to get across. I’m saying we all have these different personality aspects that all have their place and contribute and help us all to grow.

Some of things that are most memorable for me

It was really interesting and pretty incredible to see how we changed our interactions with each other as time went on. We went from “Where are you from? What do you do? Boy its hot in Egypt isn’t it?” to singing songs off pitch together, trying to freestyle, making up handshakes and nicknames for each other. The most telltale sign of how cool we’ve gotten is just how quirky it gets in here sometimes.

Also, we’ve had our share of serious talking too. If the topic is ourselves or our lives, I find that the brothers know how to listen well. If the topic is a serious political issue, or something having to do with religion, I find that each brother can speak well, has something valuable to add to the discussion. The mix of everyones different experiences and knowledge makes for a rich environment for growth.

And I think that is the word that describes what I’ve gained the most from this trip: growth. I was born and raised in Champaign, Illinois, and I’m going to college in that same town. So any new experience for me is a huge step towards becoming a better more well rounded person.

 Well that was kind of a quick post… maybe I’ll put more details in future posts.

Salam,

Hani

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What’s happening with the rest of the world? Something cool about arabic

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hanady  |  July 16, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    I don’t know why but the picture of you guys walking in a row holding hands really made me laugh. Since egypt is pretty much free of this whole straight/gay calling out people on. It s like you guys are trying to take advantage of that to the maximum.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories